About me and my financial status

I would like to share a little with you about who I am, what I do, and why you should bother to read my blog.

I have a passion for all things finance. Even before graduating high school I was planning on going into accounting. After doing my first year and a half of college I decided I wanted to shift my path a little, that is how I got into the financial services & investing industry. I lucked out and got an internship with a local investment firm and their office is only two blocks from campus! I will be starting my last year of my Bachelors in Business Administration (B.B.A.) in September 2017. After I finish my degree I plan on staying with my current employer and taking some supplementary courses in coding and statistical modelling.

I have (for the most part) been working at least two jobs at the same time since I was 16. I really am not a fan of working, when I first started working (at McDonalds) I had a terrible work ethic. I skipped more than half my shifts because I didn't want to go - and I spent all the money I made in the first two months on video games. Since then I have realized that avoiding work is impossible - I wasn't born into a rich family and so I will have to work at some point in my life. After having that realization I have decided to work as hard as I can now so that I can retire as early as I possibly can.

My current "Midterm" goal is to have a net worth of $250,000 by the time I hit age 30. I will graduate at age 22 so that gives me 8 years to grow my net worth by $270,000. It will be a difficult task, but not impossible as that is less than $35,000 a year. I expect to work two or more jobs for the first half of my 20s (or longer).

I wouldn't consider myself to be an expert on any of the subject matter, although I am passionate about financial independence. Since I am not an expert the information in this blog may not be accurate - I recommend you check other sources before acting on any information here. That being said I will do my best to make sure the information is correct.

Currently my net worth (combined with my long term girlfriend/ common-law spouse) is $21,452.27 (excluding our student loans). My student loan is currently $40,000 and I estimate it to be around $70,000 at graduation.